Landelijke India Werkgroep
Nederlandstalige versie  back

Sep 14, 2018

Letter by nine European MEPs urging cancellation of all agreements with the Indian Government

Nine Members of European Parliament (MEPs) sent a letter to the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Ms. Federica Mogherini, regarding the raids on homes and arbitrary arrest of nine human and democratic rights activists across India on August 28 (2018).

In the letter, they have urged for the cancellation of all the agreements with the Indian government until the human rights activists are released and the hunt against the Adivasi peoples, Dalits, religious minorities population and Kashmir, Manipuri people is stopped.

They also demanded the immediate release of Prof.GN Saibaba, Varavara Rao, Gautam Navlakha, Vernon Gonsalves, Arun Ferreira, Advocate Surendra Gadling, Prof Shoma Sen, Sudhir Dhawle, Rona Wilson Mahesh Raut, Sudha Bhardwaj and all human rights defenders in India.

Download the letter

India Committee of the Netherlands - September 17, 2018